Uninstall Mysql

Steps to uninstall Mysql completely from Mac OSX. While I am writing this post I used Sierra OS X and Mysql 5.6 was installed on my laptop. As I started facing issue with Mysql server startup. So I decided to uninstall it completely.

  • Open the terminal
  • If you want to backup your database the use mysqldump command
  • Stop the database server using following command
    /usr/local/mysql/support-files/mysql.server start
  • sudo rm /usr/local/mysql
  • sudo rm -rf /usr/local/mysql*
  • sudo rm -rf /Library/StartupItems/MySQLCOM
  • sudo rm -rf /Library/PreferencePanes/My*
  • nano /etc/hostconfig
    and remove the line MYSQLCOM=-YES- from hostconfig
  • rm -rf ~/Library/PreferencePanes/My*
  • sudo rm -rf /Library/Receipts/mysql*
  • sudo rm -rf /Library/Receipts/MySQL*
  • sudo rm -rf /private/var/db/receipts/*mysql*
Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

